London will be placed in high alert Tier 2 when lockdown ends, next week.

The change on December 3 is expected to mean that non-essential shops, restaurants, pubs, cinemas, theatres and gyms can reopen in the capital.

Theatres within Tier 1 and Tier 2 areas can reopen with social distancing and limited audiences, while those within Tier 3 will remain closed.  Limited audiences eans capacity restrictions in place, with a maximum of either 50 per cent of conventional capacity or 1000 audience members will be able to watch shows (whichever is the lowest).


The new system of Tiers will stay in place until April by which time it's hoped the effects of a vaccine will help bring the pandemic under control.


Other cities will have different tiers:

London – tier two
Manchester – tier three
Bristol – tier three
Leicester – tier three
Liverpool – tier two
Birmingham – tier three
Coventry – tier three
Leeds – tier three.
Derby / Derbyshire – tier three
Sunderland – tier three
Northumberland – tier three
Middlesborough – tier three
Blackpool – tier three
Warwickshire (including Stratford-upon-Avon) – tier three
York – tier two
East/ West Sussex – tier two
Oxfordshire – tier two
Surrey – tier two
Windsor – tier two
Northamptonshire – tier two
Suffolk – tier two
Brighton – tier two
Reading – tier two
Milton Keynes – tier two
Norfolk – tier two
Cambridgeshire – tier two
Sheffield – tier three
Bath – tier two
Poole – tier two Hull – tier three
Newcastle – tier three
Wolverhampton – tier three
Gloucestershire – tier two
Devon – tier two
Chichester – tier two
Portsmouth – tier two
Nottingham – tier three


The government is advising against nearly all travel for those in tier 3 areas. “Avoid travelling to other parts of the UK, including for overnight stays other than where necessary,” reads the advice.