Many artists from different productions of the musical Hairspray, included Michael Ball, Harvey Fierstein, and other TV/film stars come together for a joyous celebration of song and dance in You Can’t Stop The Beat! The lockdown performance is in support of the Actors Fund COVID-19 Emergency Financial Assistance program.


In the video there are: Kristin Chenoweth, Martin Short, Ricki Lake, Harvey Fierstein, Sean Hayes, Andrea Martin, Matthew Morrison, Michael Ball, Nikki Blonsky, Billy Eichner, Andrew Rannells, Alex Newell, Jenifer Lewis, Derek Hough, and many, many more. Additional members of the original Broadway cast in the video include Marissa Jaret Winokur, Laura Bell Bundy, Kerry Butler, and Linda Hart. The clip also includes newer theater, film, and TV performers


The creative team includes David O (co-conceiver, co-director, musical director), Janet Roston (co-conceiver, co-director, choreographer), Marc Shaiman (music and lyrics), Scott Wittman (lyrics), Ally Rice (video editor), Michael Donovan (casting) and Scott M. Riesett (music mixer). The video is produced by Christopher Sepulveda with associate producers Rebecca Eisenberg and Daniel Henning.


The current London production of the musical has been rescheduled. It will now begin performances on Tuesday 1 September 2020 (Press Night: Tuesday 8 September 2020 at 7:00pm) and play a strictly limited 10-week season to Sunday 8 November.

You can donate here